Storm, flood assistance for Tamworth, Uralla

Storm, flood assistance for Tamworth, Uralla

16 Jun 2021

Disaster recovery assistance has been extended to a further 10 local government areas, including Tamworth and Uralla, following severe storms and floods that occurred during March. 

Assistance is being provided to 73 local government areas in NSW through the jointly funded Commonwealth-State Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements (DRFA).

Member for New England Barnaby Joyce said the support included access to recovery grants of up to $75,000 for primary producers and up to $50,000 for small businesses to assist with clean-up related tasks.

“This is added assistance for people in need in our communities, providing support to those most affected by recent storms and floods,” Mr Joyce said.

“If you or someone you know was affected, I encourage you to reach out and see what help may be available for your circumstances.”

Minister for Emergency Management David Littleproud said the storms and floods have caused significant disruption to local communities.

“Assistance is reaching flood impacted communities following an immediate clean-up and support packages to aid business and primary producers,” Minister Littleproud said.

“Through the DRFA, a range of practical assistance measures are now available to help people get back on their feet.”

Assistance available under the DRFA may include:

  • help for eligible people whose homes or belongings have been damaged
  • support for affected local councils to help with the costs of cleaning up and restoring damaged essential public assets
  • concessional interest rate loans for small businesses, primary producers and non-profit organisations
  • freight subsidies for primary producers, and
  • grants to eligible non-profit organisations.

The local government areas announced today are in addition to the 63 local government areas previously announced including the New England LGAs of Armidale, Glen Innes Severn, Gwydir, Inverell, Liverpool Plains, Tenterfield and Walcha.

For information on personal hardship and distress assistance, contact Service NSW on 13 77 88. To apply for a concessional loan or grant, contact the NSW Rural Assistance Authority on 1800 678 593 or visit Further information on disaster assistance is available on the Australian Government’s Disaster Assist website at and Service NSW at


Send an Enquiry