New England recipients of the Australian Awards for University teaching announced

16 Dec 2014


12 December 2014


FEDERAL Member for New England, Barnaby Joyce congratulated the New England recipient of the Australian Awards for University Teaching 2014.


Mr Joyce said the Awards recognise and value outstanding teachers and are part of the Australian Government’s commitment to sustainable, quality learning and teaching in universities.


“These Awards celebrate the best and most innovative teaching in the nation and I’m extremely proud to recognise New England’s fantastic teachers with these Awards,” he said.


The Award recipient from New England Electorate was Dr Leopold Bayerlein who began his teaching career as a Lecturer in Accounting at the University of New England in 2011.


Each Award is valued at $25,000, with the Australian University Teacher of the Year receiving a total of $75,000 to further their teaching.


“I would like to congratulate Dr Bayerlein who has achieved excellence in his chosen fields and has made a tangible and lasting difference to students in the New England Electorate and to Australian higher education learning and teaching,” Mr Joyce said.


Mr Joyce Dr Bayerlein s teaching aims to motivate and inspire students through his enthusiasm for learning.


“Within his teaching, Leopold uses a mentorship role to encourage the active participation of his students. He develops innovative learning materials through a continuous improvement process focused on achieving learning outcomes through identifying and addressing the development needs of students,” Mr Joyce said.


The Awards are administered by the Office for Learning and Teaching (OLT), and are given in the following categories: Teaching Excellence (16 awards), Programs that Enhance Learning (8 awards), Career Achievement Award (one award) and Australian University Teacher of the Year.


Send an Enquiry