Armidale rural consultant takes out top award

16 Aug 2017


Armidale’s Greg Mills was among eight national award winners recognised today for the significant contribution he has made to the success of the agriculture sector.


Deputy Prime Minister and Member for New England, Barnaby Joyce, congratulated all the winners who received their awards at parliament house today saying it was important to talk up the sector and celebrate successes.


“The ABC Rural Consultant of the Year was awarded to Greg Mills as part of the Australian Farmer of the Year Awards for 2017 in recognition of his hard work and dedication to the sector and community,” Mr Joyce said.


Working primarily in the intensive livestock industries, Greg was recognised with the award through the consultancy services he offers to farming families, agricultural businesses and industry organisations. However, it is his enthusiasm for agriculture and his ability to present information to a diverse audience which has made him a go-to mentor for many of tomorrow’s industry leaders.


Greg is widely known as a consultant with a passion to share strategies which build trust in farmers and agricultural industries; who isn’t afraid to face some of most challenging issues facing modern animal agriculture. This includes confronting animal activist issues, particularly regarding the egg industry. Greg is also an advocate for young professionals in agriculture. He is a key mentor and trainer for the Young Farming Champions Program where he shares his experience and gives participants the skills needed to communicate their own agricultural story with confidence.


Greg said winning the 2017 Rural Consultant of the Year Award was a fantastic opportunity and will help him highlight the important issues currently facing Australian agriculture.


“The Award also showcases how rural consultants are rising to the challenge of assisting farmers with the evolving issues of increasing complexity in the modern agricultural environment,” Mr Mills said.


“Like how the implementation of new technologies and production practices in the future will require continued community support.


“That is, the privilege of operating a farming business with minimal formalised restrictions based on maintaining public trust.


“When the public trusts farmers to do what's right they won't feel the need to impose more controls through legislation, regulation or market requirements.”


Mr Joyce said this is a great example of innovative farmers improving things for their farms, which helps to secure a profitable and ongoing future for that business and others in our regional communities.


“That’s not only good for the farm and the immediate community – it’s good for the nation’s economic bottom line.

“It’s the thousands of family run farms that make a significant contribution to the nation’s economy and they deserve the recognition awards like this provide.


“I congratulate all winners for their dedication to the sector and for the example they set and congratulate Kondinin Group and ABC Rural for their continued support of these awards.”


Australian Farmer of the Year award winners for 2017:



  • Australian Farmer of the Year: Andrew Bulmer, Victoria

  • Young Farmer of the Year: Jason Smith, Victoria

  • Farming Legend of the Year: John Bennett, Tasmania

  • Rural Community Leader of the Year Award: Kristy Sparrow, Queensland

  • Rural Consultant of the Year: Greg Mills, New South Wales

  • Excellence in Innovation: Rob Cook, Queensland

  • Excellence in Technology: Lachlan Seears, South Australia

  • Excellence in Diversification: James Walker, Queensland

Send an Enquiry