New England poll officially declared

29 May 2019

The Australian Electoral Commission (AEC) has officially declared Barnaby Joyce as the elected Member for New England.


As of 12pm Wednesday and with just a few thousand more votes still to be counted, Mr Joyce had accrued 51,155 first preference votes to next best, Adam Blakester (13,438) and Yvonne Langenberg (11,722).


AEC Divisional Office Manager for the Division of New England, Yvonne Lea, said the votes listed were not necessarily the final figures for each candidate but the remaining votes will not affect the outcome of the election.


“Accordingly under provision of Section 284 of the Commonwealth Electoral Act, I declare Barnaby Joyce duly elected as the Member to serve in the House of Representatives of the Parliament of the Commonwealth of Australia for the Division of New England,” Ms Lea said.


Mr Joyce thanked his constituency for its ongoing support.


“To represent the people of New England again is an incredible honour, I’d like to dedicate the next three years to those in the smaller towns because they need to be as much part of this electorate, and our nation, as the bigger centres,” Mr Joyce said.   

Send an Enquiry