Joyce applauds local sports grants recipients

24 Mar 2014



FEDERAL Member for New England Barnaby Joyce has congratulated 24 young sportspeople from in and around Tamworth who will receive Local Sporting Champions’ grants of $500 each from the Australian Sports’ Commission.


The Local Sporting Champions grants program is designed to provide financial assistance for junior sportsmen and women towards the cost of travel, accommodation, uniforms or equipment when competing at an official NSO or NSOD endorsed state or national sporting competition, a School Sport Australia endorsed state or national championship or an international competition where the applicant is representing an official Australian team, Mr Joyce said.


“It’s great to see our young athletes gain recognition with selection for higher representative duties,” Mr Joyce said.


“These grants will help our future champions compete at higher levels and provide them with valuable experience which they can bring home and share amongst their peers and friends.”


Among the swimmers receiving the grants was: Elli Camilleri, Calala; Sarah Collison, Loomberah; Lucienne Gerathy, Tamworth; Jordan Kennedy, Tilbuster; Lana and Tara Winter of Manilla and Hugh Wolfgang, Tamworth.


Hockey players receiving a grant included Emily Chaffey, Ehren Hazell, Christopher Ninness and Kate Reynolds all from Tamworth.


Touch footballers, Kerrod Binge and Bronte Harris of Tamworth will receive grants as will cricketer Rhiannon Graham, Nemingha; baseball player Brock Ridgewell, Tamworth; gymnast Julia Hannaford, Tamworth and netballer Alina Swan of Tamworth.


Athletics competitors receiving grants were Tyrah Hewitt, Duri; Emma Kennedy, Gunnedah; Lia Mills, Kingswood; Nick Price Nemingha and Emily Sheppard of Tamworth.


Rounding off the grants recipients were Tamworth-based soccer player Harrison Taylor and cyclist Jessica Saunders.


The next round of Local Sport Champion grants will close on July 1 with the assessment timeline occurring in November to January


Local Sporting Champions program online application forms are available from the Australian Sports Commission website



Send an Enquiry