Barnaby Joyce welcomes opening of nominations for the National Disability Awards

04 Jun 2014



FEDERAL Member for New England Barnaby Joyce has welcomed the opening of nominations for the 2014 National Disability Awards, giving Australians the opportunity to celebrate the individuals and organisations that are having a positive impact on the lives of people with disability.

“The National Disability Awards allow us to recognise people across a wide range of sectors who are working to provide opportunities for economic and social participation for people with disability,” Mr Joyce said.


The awards highlight and celebrate the work of people who are making outstanding contributions to our national effort to improve the lives of people with disability.

“They also help build awareness of disability issues and recognise the important role people with disability play in their local communities and across the country,” Assistant Minister for Social Services, Senator the Hon Mitch Fifield said.

Mr Joyce said that nominations opened on 3 June 2014 and close on 18 July. An awards ceremony will be held in Canberra later this year to announce recipients.

“I encourage people in the New England Electorate to identify and nominate individuals and organisations in our community who are helping to improve the lives of people with disability,” he said.

“The Awards are one of the ways people can encourage support for people with disability and increase awareness of the benefits of extending more opportunities for people with disability to be included in work and society,” Mr Joyce said.


This year there are eight award categories, each highlighting an area where champions of people with disability are making a difference.


To nominate for the National Disability Awards, go to or call 1800 672 682. TTY users please call 1800 555 677 and ask for 1800 672 682.

National Disability Awards 2014: Categories

1.         Lesley Hall Award for Lifetime Achievement in Disability

2.         Emerging Leaders Award in Disability

3.         Improving Inclusive and Accessible Communities Award

4.         Improving Advocacy and Rights Promotion Award

5.         Improving Employment Opportunities Award

6.         Improving Personal and Community Support Award

7.         Improving Education Outcomes Award

8.         Improving Health and Wellbeing Outcomes Award


Send an Enquiry