2021 Australia Day award recipients recognised

2021 Australia Day award recipients recognised

26 Jan 2021

Member for New England Barnaby Joyce has congratulated the region’s 2021 Australia Day award recipients.

The Order of Australia recognises Australians who have demonstrated outstanding service or exceptional achievement.

Recipients in the New England to receive the Member Of The Order Of Australia (AM) include The Honourable John Alexander (Sandy) MacDonald (Wallabadah) for significant service to the people and Parliament of Australia, and to public administration as well as Mr Christopher Mark Hancock (Kellys Plains) for significant service to education and online research networks, and to Australia-USA relations.

Local recipients of the Medal Of The Order Of Australia (OAM) include Mrs Edwina Sharrock (Tamworth) for service to community health; Mr Noel John O'Halloran (Uralla) for service to rugby league and Mr Leslie Parsons (Inverell), for service to the community of Inverell, and to local government.

Also recognised with the award of the Public Service Medal was Mr Charles Cameron MacLachlan (Glen Innes) for outstanding public service to local government in New South Wales, particularly during the emergency response to the 2019 bush fires and Ms Sarah Anne Wylie (Calala) for outstanding public service to regional New South Wales, particularly to community recovery programs following the 2019-2020 bushfires.

Mr Joyce commended this year’s Order of Australia recipients.

“To have these people from the New England recognised in this capacity demonstrates our tremendous dedication to civic service,” Mr Joyce said.

“It goes without saying this is a very distinguished honour to be given so I congratulate all award recipients and thank them for the contributions they have made and continue to make in local communities right around the region.”

Anyone can nominate any Australian for an award in the Order of Australia. If you know someone worthy, nominate them now at www.gg.gov.au

Send an Enquiry