Australia Day Honours

Australia Day Honours

26 Jan 2023

Australia Day Honours


Federal Member for New England, Barnaby Joyce, has congratulated the region’s 2023 Australia Day Award recipients.

Recipients in the New England Electorate include Robbie Sefton of Tamworth who has been appointed as a Member (AM) in the General Division of the Order of Australia in recognition of her significant service to agribusiness and to the community in a range of roles.

In addition, a number of New England residents have received the Medal (OAM) of the Order of Australia in the General Division including Tamworth resident Kevin Clifton for service to the local community, Dr Philip Hungerford of Tamworth for service to emergency medicine, Wilfred MacBeth of Quirindi for service to the community through a range of roles, Dr Jeanette Berman of Armidale for service to education, Deni McKenzie of Armidale for service to the communities of Armidale and Uralla, Kent Mayo of Uralla for service to the communities of Uralla and Glen Innes, and Glen Innes Elder Rosemary Curtis for service to the Indigenous community of Glen Innes.

Mr Joyce commended this year’s Award recipients.

“It’s always wonderful to see local residents recognised for their tremendous dedication to civic service,” Mr Joyce said.

“These are very distinguished honours and I congratulate all award recipients and thank them for the contributions they have made, and continue to make, in local communities right around the region.”

Anyone can nominate any Australian for an award in the Order of Australia.  If you know of someone deserving recognition, nominate them now at

Send an Enquiry