Australia Day Honours

Australia Day Honours

26 Jan 2022

Member for New England Barnaby Joyce has congratulated the region’s 2022 Australia Day award recipients.

The Order of Australia Medal recognises Australians who have demonstrated outstanding service or exceptional achievement.

Recipients in the New England to receive the The Order Of Australia Medal (OAM) include Mr Antony White OAM (for service to the community of the Hunter Valley region), Dr Ramin Samali OAM (for service to medicine as a urologist), Denise Sullivan OAM (for service to the community of Tamworth), Cheryl Porter OAM (for service to the Indigenous community of New South Wales), Patricia Elkin OAM (for service to the arts in New England), Donald Hewitt OAM (for service to the community through social welfare), Otway Benson OAM (for service to the community of Tenterfield).

Noelene Hyde PSM (outstanding public service to local government in NSW) received the Public Service Medal and Brian McKenzie AFSM (outstanding contribution to the NSW Rurual Fire Service) is awarded the Australian Fire Service Medal.

Mr Joyce commended this year’s Order of Australia recipients.

“To have eight people from the New England recognised in this capacity demonstrates our tremendous dedication to civic service,” Mr Joyce said.

“It goes without saying this is a very distinguished honour to be given so I congratulate all award recipients and thank them for the contributions they have made and continue to make in local communities right around the region.”

Anyone can nominate any Australian for an award in the Order of Australia. If you know someone worthy, nominate them now at

Send an Enquiry